ImageWelcome to the Church of Humanism and its division,the Humanist Foundation. Founded in 1973, the Church of Humanism, located in New York City, is the only Humanist religious organization that affirms God as a fusion of naturalism and realism.

Our philosophy of life is based on a deep faith in the values of reason, love, and intuition and a call to conscience that relates particularly to issues of justice, freedom, and peace.  We greatly value the study and the application of humanistic psychology and philosophy, and we take inspiration from the wisdom of Martin Buber, Erich Fromm, Hannah Arendt, Carl Rogers, Karen Horney, Stanley Krippner, Wilhelm Reich, and other pioneers in the field of human relations.

Our services and programs include regular dialogical and inspirational meetings, ethical counseling,  weddings and other personal ceremonies, a Humanist Theological Seminary, and research in the philosophy of religion.

Here at our web site, you will find information about the unique philosophy and history of our Church, and we hope to greet you in person at one of our meetings.

                                                                                 In faith and hope,


                                                                                 Reverend Joseph Ben-David

                                                                                 Founder and Senior Minister

stop image Please note!

Dear Reader,

    None of the included materials, books, essays or lectures should be read or accepted uncritically, nor should any one of them be considered an authoritative and dogmatically binding thesis representing a humanist doctrine. We do not want "followers"; or "true believers"; but freethinking partners in a great spiritual enterprise.

    For further information about meetings, humanist weddings, naming of a child, memorials, counseling, and other activities write or call, mailing address only: The Church of Humanism, 250 West 85 St. #10E, New York, NY, 10024, All meetings held at: The Fourth Universalist Society, 4 West 76 St. New York City, Telephone:  (212) 877-5662, Email: This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it